Obagi NuDerm

5 Sep

I have to admit, I’ve been thinking about starting this beauty blog for awhile but I manage a few other blogs and I just haven’t had enough motivation to get to this one until now. The reason I finally came around is due to the fact that I really wanted to document my experience with Obagi NuDerm.

For those of you unfamiliar with this product, it is a skin care system that promises to reverse sun damage, hyper pigmentation, acne scarring, wrinkles, etc. I know that sounds like it’s promising a lot but I did a lot of research into it and people who have used it have been very happy with the results so at my skin care adviser’s injunction, I decided to give it a try.

Obagi makes more than one system but we’re talking about NuDerm here specifically. It’s a system of 8 products.

Obagi NuDerm

The picture only shows the 7 that are included in the big box that it comes in. Lets start with going over those.

1) The first big bottle is a cleanser. You use it like any other facial cleanser or soap:
-Wet face and hands
-Massage a pea size of cleanser onto your face
-Rinse and dab dry with a towel.

2) The second big bottle is a toner.
-Apply a quarter’s size to a cotton round (I prefer rounds to cotton balls because I think they waste less product) and rub gently all over face and feather down neck.

3) The third bottle is something called Clear. It has the texture of a lotion and claims to lighten dark spot on your skin like age spots or acne scars.
-You apply about half a gram (make a line from the tip of your forefinger to the first nuckle line).
-Dab spot on your face to ensure that it’s evenly distributed and then massage in all over, feathering down your neck.

4) The fourth bottle is the Exoderm which is an exfoliater.
-Apply just like the Clear, half a gram.

5) The fifth bottle is the blender. This one is mixed with something called Tretinoin which isn’t included in the box. It comes separately in a tube and you may know it as Retin-A. I believe it’s a derivative of Vitamin A and is the product that causes the most irritation to skin.
-You mix a 1/2 gram of blender with a 1/2 gram of Tretinoin (mix both on fingers) then dab on to skin.
-Massage onto whole face, feathering down the neck.

6) The sixth bottle is called Sunfader and I believe it lightens your complexion.
-Apply just like Clear.

7) The seventh and last bottle is a suncreen.
-Apply just like Clear or any other suncreen.

You used 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, and 7 in the mornings skipping the blender and the Tretinoin. After you cleanse, you just layer everything on. If you give it a couple of minutes to set, you can apply make up right on top of it.

You use 1,2,3,4, and 5 at nighttime, skipping the suncreen and the sunfader. You also cleanse and layer on.

My understanding is, that it strips away the damaged dermis layer and helps the skin grow new layers. It also promotes collagen growth and adds a healthy glow. I hear you don’t even have to wear makeup once you’re done with the system.

My only concern is, that the Tretinoin is supposed to cause a lot of redness and peeling of the skin. I started it last night and haven’t really seen any yet but I’m sure I will. I just hope it’s not unbearable. I will keep you all posted on the status and let you know if it works.

One Response to “Obagi NuDerm”

  1. 床墊 September 22, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Thanks for this! I’ve been searching all over the web for the data.

Leave a Reply

